Report on the Activities of the University of Chattanooga Tennessee Non-Tenure Track Faculty Committee for academic year 2016-2017

The Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Committee appointees are Deborah Troutman-Cantrell EDUC, John Morgan MGT, Richard Manning ENGR, Charlotte Ellington SOE, Susan Eastman ENGL, and Chair Patrick Sweetman THSP.

The committee met on Tuesday February 14, 2107 in the UTC Library. Susan Eastman, Charlotte Ellington, John Morgan, Patrick Sweetman and Debbie Troutman-Cantrell attended. A request for agenda items resulted in two items, examining multi-year contracts (specifically 3 year contracts) for Non-Tenure track faculty members, and a survey of job satisfaction of Non-Tenure track faculty members.

On the topic of multi-year contracts, discussion was held on the advantages of such contract, among them stability of departments and peace of mind for faculty. Debbie Troutman-Cantrell volunteered to look into multi-year contracts in the University of Tennessee system. She reported via email on February 17, 2017, that the State of Tennessee does not allow for three year contracts. However, the UTC administration was working on language to make them possible. Susan Eastman replied to that email later that day with language from the University of Tennessee Knoxville Provost's page regarding this point:

"Promotion to the rank of senior lecturer may be accompanied by an appointment that is automatically renewed for up to three years. Like all academic appointments, these multi-year appointments consist of annual appointments that are automatically renewed for the specified term, unless terminated for cause, or by operation of some other provision in the *Faculty Handbook* (such as relinquishment or forfeiture or other extraordinary circumstances, as those terms are defined in Board policy and in the *Handbook*)."

Ms. Troutman-Cantrell replied to this email on the same day that she would forward this notice to Beth Crawford, the Chair of the UTC Faculty Handbook Committee.

On the topic of a survey of Non-Tenure track faculty satisfaction, Patrick Sweetman volunteered to create a survey. On February 22, 2017, all faculty received notice from Gretchen Potts, the president elect of the Faculty Senate, of a Faculty Engagement Survey "designed to collect your opinion and input on the best methods to discuss on-going campus matters." This survey asked many useful questions, and gave faculty the opportunity to identify their type of employment at UTC. Patrick Sweetman has asked if it is possible for the NTTFC to see the results of the survey, which is expected to be shared with all faculty at a future date. This could be a topic or agenda item for future action of the NTTFC.

There being no other agenda items put forward, the Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Committee adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick Sweetman, Chair Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Committee 2016-2017 University of Tennessee Chattanooga