## THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESEE AT CHATTANOOGA

Academic Standards and Scholarships Committee
Annual Report
2015-2016

Members: Manuel F. Santiago, Chair; Callie Adams, James Arnett, Boris Belinsky, Natalie Bennett, Jennifer Boyd, Christopher Hensley, James Hiestand, Irina Khmelko, William Kuby, Susan McDonald, Dana Moody, Barbara Norwood. Ex-officio David Raush, Linda Orth, Yancy Freeman, Jennifer Buckles, Greg O'Dea

Meeting Dates: September 18, 2015; February 26, 2016

During this academic year, the work of the Academic Standards Committee centered on the items listed below. The reports of each meeting was sent to the Faculty Senate President

## 1. September 18, 2015:

On September 18, 2015, the committee convened at 9 a.m. in Grote Hall. The chair referred to the committee's Charge as stated in the Faculty Handbook (Enclosure 1). The majority of the discussion centered on Dr. Dileepan's concern regarding the "unnecessary time pressure to meet an arbitrarily time deadline of one day to submit grades" that would reduce the time to grade assignments and maintain a high standard of evaluation.

## 2. February 26, 2016:

The committee convened on February 26, at 10 a.m. in Grote Hall. The meeting focused on reviewing, discussing, and voting on the Brock Scholars selected by the Honors College Scholarship Committee. Dr. Greg O'Dea addressed the questions from the members highlighting the number of applicants, selection process, and selection criteria. The committee voted unanimously (14 aye, 0 nay, 0 abs) in favor of the awardees and selection process of the newest Brock Scholars.

Manuel F. Santiago

Chair